New Year New Me

Hi everyone 🙂 I know I haven’t been updating as often as I promised my health hasn’t been the best lately. I have been having more seizures, ups and downs with medication toxicity, hospital visits and recuperating from a recent VNS surgery. For those of you who don’t know what VNS stands for it stands for Vagus Nerve Stimulator. a Vagus Nerve Stimulator is like a little pacemaker but instead of being for your heart, it’s for your brain. It goes under your skin and has a wire that runs up the vagus nerve. To be clear the vagus nerve goes into the brain not the wire. It sends small bursts of electrical impulses for 30 seconds every five minutes. Every week I have go go back to Massachusetts General Hospital to get the electrical impulses intensified. With the Vagus Nerve Stimulator implant, I’m hopeful it will reduce my seizures and 2020 will be the year I finally get my epilepsy under control.

Here I am as I woke up from
surgery.
Here I am with my Neurosurgeon Dr. Duhaime and her assistant neurosurgeon Jessica the day after my surgery.
Here I am the next day with nurse practitioner Amanda Tourjee turning on the device.

3 thoughts on “New Year New Me

  1. I’m so proud of you and I’m so happy that this new tool can help keep the seizures under control we pray . I love you cousin xoxo 2020 is your year

    Like

  2. Hi sweetheart,
    Just read your posts. Your strength, your smile even when things are tough, and your grace to share your struggles are so admirable. The fact that you share your experiences, while traveling on this bumpy road with epilepsy to help others as well, proves you are truly a wonderful person! Wishing you the very best of 2020 and no doubt this is your year to kick epilepsy’s butt!!!!!!!! All the best to mom, dad and David as well. Anne and Olivia B

    Like

  3. Hi Sam, I love reading your posts. I’m sending you all the love and positive vibes that I have! Big big hugs to you from me, Tony, and Mason. ❌⭕️❌⭕️

    Like

Leave a comment